KINCARDINESHIRE - usually called the MEARNS, - is a historic county on the coast of north-east Scotland with Aberdeenshire to the north and west, Angus on the south and the North Sea to the east. It is also known as the Mearns, from Scottish Gaelic A Mhaoirne meaning "the Stewartry".

Roughly triangular in shape, Kincardineshire has an area of just under 10,000 hectares. The county is divided locally into four districts, - Grampian, Deeside, The Howe of the Mearns, and Coast-side. The principal settlements are Stonehaven, the county town on the east coast, Inverbervie and Laurencekirk to the south and Banchory on the northern border and situated on Royal Deeside. Other settlements include Drumoak, Muchalls, Newtonhill and Portlethen. Amongst the rivers are the Carron, the Cowie and the lower reaches of the River Dee.

The county's coat of arms reflects the history of the Honours of Scotland, which were kept at Dunnottar Castle during the Wars of the Three Kingdoms. They comprise the Sceptre and Sword of Scotland crosswise in a saltire, with the Crown of Scotland and a ruined castle.

The motto is Laus Deo or Praise God.

Kincardineshire County